#11 Our Climb for Palestine

Originally written 30th August 2014, 19:10.

Today was the day we did the charity mountain climb in order to support the people of the Palestine. It’s a great cause to which we are all very passionate about and the money raised will all be donated to the Penny Appeal.

I can honestly say it was one of the biggest challenges I have ever set myself. I am not a fan of heights, I have never climbed a mountain and I am definitely not a fan of crazy weather with the added danger of falling head first into a valley far far below!

The drive towards Snowdon was brilliant. Very picturesque and different from city life with amazing views that were almost too perfect. Untouched, natural beauty.

Parking up, we saw the archaic train chugging away and as we nestled together for a group photo, it struck me what was ahead of us. The fog covered the majority of the mountain and the path was hardly I’m sight.

Now, we stepped across the bridge and began our journey. It started very steep, very early on and that horrid sinking feeling set in. But determination drove me forward and I slapped on a grin. It’s for a good cause after all and a part of me says: think of the gaaains!

So off we trot, it’s going ok then BAM the fog moves and we’re very high up: keep moving forward. Now I’m sweating from fear as well as cardio, now I’m sweating even more from worry of people seeing me sweat. The hairs got to be fully up now, slick it back, no more flyaways, march on.

We pass the half way mark and I’m feeling ok! Now even more motivated I’m genuinely enjoying the walk!

From there on out only the worst happens. It gets awfully rocky and the mud only makes it slippery and horrendously dangerous and then the pain sets in. My thighs and arse are burning, my asthma is making my chest scream and I now I have a migraine but still we walk. Although I think
climbing is more suitable since the hill is vertical and the rocks protrude the mountain like daggers. Scary shit man.

Very close to giving up at this stage and the fog is swirling round us, tormenting us and it is hell. The wind has picked up and droplets of water cling to every fibre. We are wet, cold, windswept and damn near dead in my opinion but, at long last, we reach the summit and by God are we pleased. Absolutely shattered we settle down and wait for the rest of the family to reach us.

On the way back down the weather conditions have worsened but our spirits are lifted and we swiftly arrive back down at the bottom in no time.

We are exhausted, our legs are numb and we are in definite need of cake and chocolate but thank you to everyone who supported and donated to our designated charity.

Still can’t get over the people who jogged up and down like it was nothing. I mean, it was meant to be a 5/6 hour hike altogether and we did it in about 3 which is pretty good going to be fair. I overheard some ladies talking about a young man who jogged up and down in 59 minutes. MINUTES.

Crazy people.

The site is still up and running for any last minute donations! https://www.justgiving.com/Our-Climb-For-Palestine

 

Leave a comment